top of page
  • Writer's pictureTia Ravara

My experience at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire


About


My name is Tia Ravara and I am from San Leandro, California. I am a fourth year double major in Biology and Geology with Environmental Science Emphasis at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire. I am an undergraduate researcher that studies behavioral ecology on California Ground Squirrels. I am the first National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) All-Around Women’s National Gymnastics Champion at my university.




Major

I started college as a Biology major and a Pre-Professional Health minor on the Pre-Medicine route. After two years, I decided to focus more on field animal biology. In my junior year, I became part of a behavioral ecology research group called Team Squirrel with Dr. Jennifer Smith. We study California Ground Squirrels and their ecological importance on the area, how anthropogenic changes affect wildlife, their genetic and endocrine analyses, and many more topics. During the school year, I work on Digikam analyzing thousands of photos taken on camera traps from 2020 to 2023. I tag the photos for the place, species type, and number of species. During the summer of 2023, I traveled to my home state of California to study the California Ground Squirrels through the Biology Research Scholars Program. In the field, we trapped, measured, marked, and tagged squirrels. We also observed their behaviors within their population and with other predators and animals in the area. Next year, I plan to travel back to California to collect more data with the funding provided by the McNair Scholars Program. Currently, I’m working on my geology major to explore how humans affect geological processes.


Gymnastics

Over the four years I’ve been here, I have achieved MVP for the UWEC team, third place All-Around at the WIAC Regional Championships, NCGA All-Around Women’s National Gymnastics Champion, the Women's Collegiate Gymnastics Association (WCGA) Regional Athlete of the Year, and UWEC Play of the Year. I hope to continue gymnastics for two more years and achieving more.





Outside activities

Outside of gymnastics, research, and classes, I lead weekly meetings and bible study at Athletes in Action (AIA), I give tours as a Campus Ambassador for the school, I play with my Bearded Dragon Fred and my Rabbit Blossom, and I work at the McIntyre Library and at the Ark Animal Hospital. These activities prepare me to work on a team, work with animals, and communicate with others. I am also part of the McNair Scholars Program that prepares me for graduate school through research opportunities.



7 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page